Introduction

 Public Web Presence


And a Brief Introduction…

I grew up in the cornfields of Illinois and did my undergrad in International Studies and Music in my hometown. After that, I worked for a year for the Illinois State Legislature as a researcher. I got married the summer of 2010 and moved with my husband up to Fairbanks right after that. We lived in Fairbanks for 10 months before he deployed to Afghanistan, and I put all of our stuff into storage and moved to Chicago for grad school. I got my M.A. in International Relations from the University of Chicago while my husband was deployed, moved back to Fairbanks for 3 months, moved to Georgia for 9 months, moved to Anchorage for 2 years, and now we have lived north of Baltimore, Maryland for the past 8 months. We’re moving again in July to Greenville, South Carolina. If you’re keeping track, that means my husband and I drove the Alaskan Highway to the East Coast (or the reverse of that) a total of three times. I developed a phobia of long road trips (just kidding, kind of) but I’m more or less over that now. I haven’t lived anywhere longer than 24 months in the last 6 years, but we should be in South Carolina for a full two years. That seems like a really long time for us, so we’re going to buy a house and really put down some roots!

Despite all these moves, I’ve been doing my best to maintain a career in higher education. I worked remotely for two separate companies developing college courses online. I taught political science and American government at a community college in Georgia for two semesters, and then I taught at UAA for five semesters. This past year, I’ve started UAF’s M.Ed. in Online Innovation and Design.


I am constantly starting new projects before I’ve finished old projects. I have a love-hate relationship with Pinterest…so many ideas, but so little time and so many failures. I love decorating new houses every time we move and am looking forward to buying our first house so I can really dig in to home renovation projects. One of my favorite things to do is spend time in the kitchen—I like to experiment with recipes that use real and wholesome ingredients, and am thankful for a husband who’s willing to try pretty much anything I come up with. We live on the Chesapeake Bay, so I also spend a lot of time walking my dog by the water. I love farmer’s markets, sunshine, trying new things, and quiet nights at home. I hate rush hour traffic, when people are rude for no reason, and injustices both small and large. My favorite season is whatever season is coming up next, and so I love living in places that get to enjoy all four seasons equally.


A Couple of Lists

Things I cooked/ate this past week…

  • Cranberry almond granola
  • Sundried tomato and spinach quinoa salad
  • Lemon and dill halibut chowder
  • Grilled chicken and penne Caesar salad
  • Honey ginger lemonade
  • Dutch apple pancakes

Memorable travel experiences…

  • Seeing the DC cherry blossoms at peak bloom
  • Eating turkey and stuffing flavored potato chips on Thanksgiving Day in London
  • Watching a pod of orcas on an island off the coast of Washington state
  • Driving the Going-to-the-Sun Road in Glacier National Park, Montana
  • Singing with a choir in St. Mark’s square in Venice, Italy
  • Taking a helicopter up to a glacier hike in Juneau
  • Whitewater rafting in the Smoky Mountains in Tennessee
  • Snorkeling in Hanuama Bay, Hawaii

Photograph of the author and her husband at the Jefferson Memorial with a view of the DC cherry blossoms

Continue Reading